Notophthalmus viridescens Eastern Newt
Subspecies I've seen:
Notophthalmus viridescens louisianensis Central Newt
Little Swan Creek, Meriwether Lewis Site, Lewis County, TennesseeMay 10, 2004
Central Newt (Notophthalmus viridescens louisianensis)
This species, like many newts, has a terrestrial phase and an aquatic phase. Eastern Newts in the terrestrial phase, like the one pictured here, are called red efts.
Printed references: